List of 77 Districts in Nepal with Provinces Name

Schedule 4 of the Constitution of Nepal divided Nepal into 7 Provinces on 20th September 2015. Before the division of Rukum and Nawalparasi, there were 75 districts in Nepal. However, the government decided to divide these two districts into separate entities on April 26, 2017, bringing the total number of districts in Nepal to 77.

Each province is made up of a specific number of districts from a particular area, providing a clear administrative structure across the country. If you are looking for information on the districts of Nepal divided by province, the following list provides a comprehensive breakdown of the districts in Nepal under each province. This list can serve as a helpful reference for those interested in understanding the administrative structure of Nepal at the district level.

Political and Administrative Map of Nepal with Districts in Nepal

List of Districts in Koshi Province (Province no. 1)

The are a total of 14 Districts in Koshi Province. The following are the districts in Koshi Province. The name of Koshi Province was finalized on Falgun 17, 2079 (in AD 1st March 2023).

S.NName of Districts in Koshi ProvinceArea in Square Kilometer
List of Districts in Koshi Province

List of Districts in Madhesh Province (Province no. 2)

There are eight districts in Madhesh province (province no.2) of Nepal. The Madhesh province is Terai regional comprising the following districts.

  1. Bara
  2. Dhanusa
  3. Mahottari
  4. Parsa
  5. Rautahat
  6. Saptari
  7. Sarlahi
  8. Siraha

List of Districts in Bagmati Province (Province no. 3)

There is a total of 13 districts in the Bagmati province. The following is the list of Districts in Bagmati Province.

  1. Bhaktapur District
  2. Chitwan
  3. Dhading
  4. Dolakha
  5. Kathmandu
  6. Kavrepalanchok
  7. Lalitpur
  8. Makawanpur
  9. Nuwakot District
  10. Ramechhap
  11. Rasuwa
  12. Sindhuli
  13. Sindhupalchok

List of Districts in Gandaki Province (Province no. 4)

There are 11 districts in Gandaki Province. The following is the list of all districts in Gandaki Province.

  1. Baglung
  2. Gorkha
  3. Kaski
  4. Lamjung
  5. Manang
  6. Mustang
  7. Myagdi
  8. Nawalparasi (Bardaghat Susta Purba)
  9. Parbat
  10. Syangja
  11. Tanahu District

List of Districts in Lumbini Province (Province no. 5)

There is a total of 12 districts in Lumbini Province. The following is the list of all districts in Lumbini Province Nepal.

  1. Arghakhanchi
  2. Banke
  3. Bardiya
  4. Dang
  5. Gulmi
  6. Kapilvastu
  7. Nawalparasi (Bardaghat Susta Paschim)
  8. Palpa
  9. Pyuthan
  10. Rolpa
  11. Purbi Rukum
  12. Rupandehi

List of Districts in Karnali Province (Province no. 6)

Karnali is considered to be the most backward province of Nepal. In Karnali Province, there are 10 districts. Karnali is also the largest province of Nepal. The following is the list of Districts in Karnali Province.

  1. Dailekh
  2. Dolpa
  3. Humla
  4. Jajarkot
  5. Jumla
  6. Kalikot
  7. Mugu
  8. Rukum Paschim
  9. Salyan
  10. Surkhet

List of Districts in Sudur-Paschim Province (Province no. 7)

There are 9 districts in Sudur-Paschim Province (Province no. 7). The following is the list of Districts in the Sudur-Paschim Province.

  1. Achham
  2. Baitadi
  3. Bajhang
  4. Bajura
  5. Dadeldhura
  6. Darchula
  7. Doti
  8. Kailali
  9. Kanchanpur

That is the complete list of Districts in each province of Nepal. If you have to remember the numbers, you can see the following chart.

Number of Districts in Nepal by Each Province

Name of ProvinceNumbers of Districts
Province No. 2 (Madhesh)8
Province No. 7 (Sudur-Paschim)9
Province No. 6 (Karnali)10
Province No. 4 (Gandaki)11
Province No. 5 (Lumbini)12
Province No. 3 (Bagmati)13
Province No. 1 (Koshi)14
Numbers of Districts in Each Province

Largest Districts in Nepal by Area

The following are the ten largest districts in Nepal by their total surface area.

SNDistrictsArea in Square Kilometer
Largest Districts in Nepal by the Area

Smallest Districts in Nepal by Area

The districts in Nepal are divided based on different factors such as population density and availability of resources. Therefore, the area of districts in Nepal varies by a high margin. For example, the smallest district in Nepal i.e Bhaktapur is around 66 times smaller than the largest district of Nepal. The following are the smallest districts in Nepal by area.

SNDistrictsArea in Square Kilometer
5Nawalparasi (Bardaghat Susta Paschim)634.88
Smallest districts in Nepal by Area.

Which is the smallest district in Nepal?

The smallest district in Nepal by total area is Bhaktapur, located in the Kathmandu valley of Bagmati Province. It has an area of 119 square kilometers.

Which is the largest district in Nepal?

The largest district in Nepal by total area is the Dolpa district in Karnali Province. The total area of the Dolpa district is 7,889 square kilometers.

Which is the smallest and largest province in Nepal by area?

The smallest province in Nepal is Madhesh Province (Province no. 2) and the largest province in Nepal is Karnali Province (Province no. 6)

Related: Postal Code of All Nepal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. 5 Largest Districts of Nepal by the population are:
    1. Kathmandu
    2. Morang
    3. Rupandehi
    4. Jhapa
    5. Sunsari

    Update it…

  2. The area of Parasi is 634.9 km2
    The area of Terathum is 679km2. So the smallest districts in the ascending order according to their area there is Parasi instead of Terathum. Update it.